Welcome to AKBC 2014 the workshop on automated knowledge base construction at NIPS 2014 in Montreal Diliff @ Wikicommons
History of AKBC 2 Sir Andrew McCallumnus
3 Sir Andrew McCallumnus There shalleth be a workshop on the automated construction of knowledge bases! History of AKBC
4 Wikicommons AKBC 2010: Grenoble, stand-alone History of AKBC
5 Wikicommons AKBC 2012: Montreal, NAACL History of AKBC
6 Wikicommons AKBC 2013: San Francisco, CIKM History of AKBC
7 Wikicommons AKBC 2014: Montreal, NIPS History of AKBC
Accepted papers 8 ... ... 35 submissions
Accepted papers 9 ... ... 35 submissions reviews positive ... 21 accepted papers
Accepted papers ... 10 ... ... 35 submissions reviews positive 21 accepted papers 3 selected papers for talks reviews outstanding
Outstanding Paper Awards 11 • Arvind Neelakantan, Benjamin Roth and Andrew McCallum:     “Knowledge Base Completion using     Compositional Vector Space Models” • Ari Kobren, Thomas Logan, Siddarth Sampangi and A. McCallum:     “Domain Specific KB Construction via Crowdsourcing” • Peter Clark, Niranjan Balasubramanian, Sumithra   Bhakthavatsalam, Kevin Humphreys, Jesse Kinkead,   Ashish Sabharwal, and Oyvind Tafjord:     “Automatic Construction of Inference-Supporting KBs”
Outstanding Paper Awards 12 • Arvind Neelakantan, Benjamin Roth and Andrew McCallum:     “Knowledge Base Completion using     Compositional Vector Space Models” • Ari Kobren, Thomas Logan, Siddarth Sampangi and A. McCallum:     “Domain Specific KB Construction via Crowdsourcing” • Peter Clark, Niranjan Balasubramanian, Sumithra   Bhakthavatsalam, Kevin Humphreys, Jesse Kinkead,   Ashish Sabharwal, and Oyvind Tafjord:     “Automatic Construction of Inference-Supporting KBs” 100 $ per paper
Outstanding Paper Awards 13 100 $ per paper • Arvind Neelakantan, Benjamin Roth and  Andrew McCallum    “Knowledge Base Completion using     Compositional Vector Space Models” • Ari Kobren, Thomas Logan, Siddarth Sampangi and  A. McCallum    “Domain Specific KB Construction via Crowdsourcing” • Peter Clark, Niranjan Balasubramanian, Sumithra   Bhakthavatsalam, Kevin Humphreys, Jesse Kinkead,   Ashish Sabharwal, and Oyvind Tafjord:     “Automatic Construction of Inference-Supporting KBs” 58 $
Outstanding Paper Awards 14 100 $ per paper • Arvind Neelakantan, Benjamin Roth and Andrew McCallum:     “Knowledge Base Completion using     Compositional Vector Space Models” • Ari Kobren, Thomas Logan, Siddarth Sampangi and A. McCallum:     “Domain Specific KB Construction via Crowdsourcing” •  Peter Clark, Niranjan Balasubramanian, Sumithra    Bhakthavatsalam, Kevin Humphreys, Jesse Kinkead ,    Ashish Sabharwal, and Oyvind Tafjord    “Automatic Construction of Inference-Supporting KBs” 14 $
We thank our reviewers! 15 Ralf Schenkel Ndapandula Nakashole Jayant Krishnamurthy Anthony Platanios Niranjan Balasubramanian Nicoleta Preda Alan Akbik Xiao Ling Alan Ritter Gerhard Weikum Andreas Vlachos Doug Downey Ramanathan Guha Tim Rocktaeschel Arvind Neelakantan Gabor Angeli Limin Yao James Mayfield Bhavana Dalvi Michael Wick Estevam Hruschka Junior Hoifung Poon Jason Naradowsky James Fan Alon Halevy Steffen Staab
Types of reviews 16 This paper is called “Automated Knowledge Base Construction”. It deals with the automated construction of knowledge bases. There is a typo on p. 2, it should be “colour”, not “color”. I recommend proof-reading the paper by a natif Englisch spaeker. I therefore recommend rejecting the paper.
Best Reviewer Award 17 Gabor Angeli for providing 4 particularly deep and helpful reviews. (no money, no picture, only honor)
Keynote Speakers 18 B. Onysh- kevych, DARPA Oren Etzioni AIAI Tom Mitchell, CMU Jason Weston, Facebook Kevin Murphy, Google Chris Re, Stanford William Cohen, CMU Hoifung Poon Microsoft Ramana- than Guha, Google